I want to be a voice for you. I’m an advocate. I know what it’s like to not feel represented by your government. I fought for my family and I want to fight for yours. I’ve always spoken truth to power. With health care, higher education, and workers’ rights under attack, I want to be a voice for you in the Iowa Senate. I’m looking forward to meeting you. Here’s some background about me. ~ Zach

About Zach Wahls

Zach Wahls is the Democratic nominee for Iowa Senate District 37. Wahls first gained national attention when his testimony before the Iowa House Judiciary Committee about growing up with gay parents went viral and became YouTube’s most-watched political video of 2011. He is an advocate for LGBTQ rights and co-founder and executive director of Scouts for Equality, the national organization which led the campaign to successfully end the Boy Scouts of America’s decades-old ban on gay people. He has spoken at 250+ events all over Iowa and across America, including a primetime speech at the 2012 Democratic National Convention supporting President Obama.

Wahls is also the author of the bestselling book My Two Moms: Lessons of Love, Strength, and What Makes a Family. Recently, he and his sister created The Woman Cards, a deck of playing cards featuring 15 original, hand-drawn portraits of American women who changed the world.

A longtime resident of the senate district with deep community roots, Wahls is an Eagle Scout and an active member of the Unitarian Universalist congregation in Coralville. He is a graduate of Iowa City West High School and the University of Iowa, and will receive his master’s degree in public policy from Princeton University’s Woodrow Wilson School in Spring 2018.

About Iowa Senate District 37

The 37th District of the Iowa Senate is located in eastern Iowa, and is currently composed of Cedar, Johnson, and Muscatine Counties including Iowa City, Coralville, Solon, West Branch, Mechanicsville, Stanwood, Clarence, Lowden, Tipton, Bennett, Rochester, Durant, and Wilton. The seat is currently held by Bob Dvorsky, who announced in August that he would not seek reelection in 2018.

On June 5, 2018, Zach won the Democratic nomination to be on the November 6th ballot. The four-year senate term begins in January 2019.

About the Committee to Elect Zach Wahls

Mitch and Melanie Gross, Co-Chairs
Adam Ingersoll, Treasurer
Nina Elkadi
Meghann Foster
Lynette Jacoby
Kevin Olson
Nick Westergaard
Lauren Whitehead

Media Kit

Download media kit including bio, photos, and logos.